About the Journal

Crítica, Revista Hispanoamericana de Filosofía, is an open access journal published by the Instituto de Investigaciones Filosóficas of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México). Crítica appears quarterly in the months of April, August and December.

With the help of various generations of Spanish and English speaking philosophers, Crítica has contributed significantly in establishing the analytical tradition especially in Spanish speaking countries. It was founded by Alejandro Rossi, Fernando Salmerón and Luis Villoro in 1967. Its first volume included celebrated articles by Peter Strawson, Gilbert Ryle, Héctor-Neri Castañeda and Thomas Moro Simpson, amongst others.

Crítica has had contributions by other distinguished philosophers, such as: Carlos Alchourrón, G.E.M. Anscombe, D.M. Armstrong, Eugenio Bulygin, Héctor-Neri Castañeda, Donald Davidson, Jon Elster, Gilbert Harman, R.M. Hare, J.L. Mackie, Hugo Margáin, John McDowell, Thomas Nagel, D.F. Pears, A.N. Prior, Hilary Putnam, W.V.O. Quine, Richard Rorty, Gilbert Ryle, Sydney Shoemaker, Thomas M. Simpson, Ernesto Sosa, P.F. Strawson, Bas C. van Fraassen and G.H. von Wright.

Crítica publishes original, unpublished work both in English and in Spanish.

Crítica publishes articles, discussions, state of the art papers, critical notices, and reviews of high quality in any area of philosophy which contribute to current philosophical debates. Conceptual precision, rigour and originality are essential to any work accepted for publication.